The Georgia State Board of Accountancy regulates professional licensure of Certified Public Accountants and Public Accounting Firms in Georgia. GSBA consists of 7 members appointed by the Governor: 6 licensed Certified Public Accountants and 1 Consumer Member. Their goal is to protect the citizens of Georgia in regard to professional accounting services.
When and how do I apply for CPA certification in Georgia?
What are the CPE requirements for CPA licensure in Georgia?
No CPE is required during the first year of licensure. After the first renewal period, the CPE requirement is 80 hours every two years, 16 hours (20%) of which must be in auditing and accounting subjects. A minimum of 20 hours must be earned in each year. If licensed less than one year, no CPE is required for your first license renewal. If licensed one year but less than two years prior to your first renewal date, 40 hours of CPE (20% in A&A) is required. If CPE requirements are not completed by the end of the renewal period, the license will expire and the licensee will be required to reinstate in order to bring the license back to an active status. Please note: Reinstatement is at the discretion of the Board. See Board Rule Chapter 20-11.
Licensees should retain documentation of CPE credits for five years. Proof of CPE credits is not submitted to the Board office unless audited by the Board. A licensee who has reached the age of 70 is exempt from CPE requirements.
How can I get a verification of my Georgia exam scores, etc. required for licensure in another state?
Licensure requirements for other states may include requests for verification of CPA exam scores, a letter of good standing, a verification of licensure of a licensed CPA supervisor in Georgia, etc. Licensure verification requests required by other states for certification in that state must be submitted to the GSBA, along with a check or money order for $25.00 payable to Georgia State Board of Accountancy. The required verification form or forms must be retrieved from the website of the state requesting the verification.
If there is no specific form to fill out, please send a detailed written request to GSBA using the contact information listed above. Verification requests usually take a minimum of 10 business days to process.