At the start of the legislative session, Governor Deal addressed the need for increased attention to public safety on Georgia’s waterways. Senate Bill 136 does exactly that.
In March 2011, a mother and father were sentenced to prison for pimping out their 14-year-old daughter to a used car salesman in lieu of making their $281 car payment. The 66-year-old used car salesman was also sent to prison.
In a 146-17 vote the Georgia House of Representatives passed SB 136, a measure to lower the legal intoxication limit for boaters and hunters.
The Senate unanimously approved a bill that would make it a crime to pilot a boat with a blood alcohol content of .08 or higher and increase penalties for those caught boating drunk.
More than 500 state employees work for the Georgia Department of Defense in jobs ranging from sanitation services to human resources and public affairs.