You are here
This Week in GeorgiaGov
If you'd like to vote in the November 6 General Election, you'll need to register by today. To register, you must be a U.S. citizen and a legal resident of the county you're registering in, and by election day, you must be at least 18 years old. You can register online, fill out and send in a Voter Registration Application, or visit your county voter registration office.
Starting in January 2013, Georgia State War Veterans Homes will charge veterans a reasonable, daily fee of $22.42 to cover medical and nursing care expenses. The local veterans’ service offices in Augusta and Milledgeville will help veterans apply for federal benefits to defray these costs.
By November 16, state officials will need to inform the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services whether Georgia plans to establish its own health insurance exchange, a decision that will at last offer some clarity about the Affordable Care Act's implementation.
More than 1.6 million voters sent in advance ballots and headed to the polls for yesterday's general primary, one that saw the defeat of the T-SPLOST and the approval of Sunday liquor sales in select counties.