You are here

Calhoun County

Incorporated Date: 
February 20, 1854
Total Area: 
280.2 sq mi
Contact Information
P.O. Box 226
Morgan, GA 39866
Phone Number: 
(229) 849-4835
Fax Number: 
(229) 849-2100

Calhoun County is made up of land once part of Baker and Early counties. Designated in 1854, the county is named for Senator John C. Calhoun of South Carolina. After breaking with President Andrew Jackson in disgust over a number of policy issues from lowering tariffs to respecting states' rights, Calhoun resigned as vice president of the United States and returned to the Senate. Morgan, the county seat, is named for Revolutionary War hero General Daniel Morgan.