You are here

Clayton County

Incorporated Date: 
November 30, 1858
Total Area: 
142.6 sq mi
Contact Information
112 Smith St.
Jonesboro, GA 30236
Phone Number: 
(770) 477-3208
Fax Number: 
(770) 477-3217

Clayton County, designated in 1858 from land previously part of Fayette and Henry counties, honors Judge Augustin S. Clayton, a congressman from Georgia who won popularity for his opposition to tariffs. While residents had long called the county seat Leaksville, they renamed it Jonesboro, a nod of approval to a railroad surveyor who, upon the arrival of the rail line, won favor with local leaders.