You are here

Effingham County

Incorporated Date: 
February 5, 1777
Total Area: 
479.5 sq mi
Contact Information
601 North Laurel St.
Springfield, GA 31329
Phone Number: 
(912) 754-2123
Fax Number: 
(912) 754-8407
Email Address: 

Effingham County, created in 1777 from the Colonial parishes of St. Matthew and St. Phillip, is the state's fourth oldest county. Its name honors Lord Effingham, an English champion of Colonial rights. In 1733, a group of Protestant colonists, the German-speaking Salzburgers, followed James Oglethorpe and later settled much of the region. Springfield is the county seat, though not the first city to hold that status.