You are here

Johnson County

Incorporated Date: 
December 11, 1858
Total Area: 
304.4 sq mi
Contact Information
P.O. Box 269
Wrightsville, GA 31096
Phone Number: 
(478) 864-3388
Fax Number: 
(478) 864-9441

Johnson County, created in 1858 from parts of Washington, Emanuel and Laurens counties, honors Herschel Vespasian Johnson, Georgia governor and Stephen Douglas' running mate in an unsuccess­ful bid against Abraham Lincoln in 1860. Wrightsville, the county seat, is thought to be named for John B. Wright, a pioneer resident.

This coun­ty's irregular southern boundary was an accommodation for a citizen so irate with his county commissioner that he prevailed on his legislators to separate his land from Johnson County. The Jefferson/Johnson county line follows the route of the Old Sunbury Road, one of the longest thoroughfares of its time. It was laid out in the 1790s.