You are here

Monroe County

Incorporated Date: 
May 15, 1821
Total Area: 
395.7 sq mi
Contact Information
P.O. Box 189
Forsyth, GA 31029
Phone Number: 
(478) 994-7000
Fax Number: 
(478) 994-7294

Monroe County, created in 1821 from Creek Indian lands, later divided to make Pike and Lamar counties along with parts of Spalding, Butts, Upson and Bibb counties. It is named for James Monroe, fifth U.S. president. Forsyth, the county seat, is named for John Forsyth who, as minister to Spain, negotiated the 1819 purchase of Florida.