To sell handguns in the state, you'll need to submit federal and state firearms licenses to the Georgia Department of Public Safety.
What You Should Know:
- First, apply for a federal firearms license with the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives. After you receive your federal license, you'll be ready to work on your state firearm license.
- The state licensing period runs from July 1 to June 30, and the license costs $25 per year and an additional $3 for each employee you approve to sell weapons.
- If you submit your annual renewal after August 1, you'll owe not only the license fee but also a $10 penalty fee.
- Mail your completed application and payment to:
Office of Professional Standards
P.O. Box 1456
Atlanta, GA 30371-1456
Normally, the division will process your application within two weeks.
Source: Georgia Department of Public Safety. This information was prepared as a public service of the State of Georgia to provide general information, not to advise on any specific legal problem. It is not, and cannot be construed to be, legal advice. If you have questions regarding any matter contained on this page, please speak with the agency that is the source of the information.