The Department of Driver Services helps you earn, renew or replace learner’s permits and licenses. To carry a full license for everyday, non-commercial vehicles, you must be at least 18 years old.
- After you pass your vision, knowledge and road skills exams, you'll need to renew your license every five or every eight years.
- You'll pay $20 to renew your license for five years and $32 to renew it for eight years. You can save $5, however, if you renew your license online.
- If you're a veteran and can present documents proving this, you don't have to pay a license fee.
- If you need to replace a lost or stolen license, you can request a new one.
- Schedule appointments for road skills exams and out-of-state transfers of licenses if you can. If you don't schedule an appointment, walk in on the less busy Thursdays.
First, get a learner’s permit by passing a vision exam, taking a knowledge test and paying the $10 permit fee. If you aren't 18 yet, you must hold this learner’s permit for one year and one day before you are eligible to take the road skills exam, and you must enroll in an approved driver education program. If you're an adult driver, you can go ahead and take the road skills exam.
When you're ready, schedule an appointment for a road skills exam. Make sure that your test vehicle is properly insured and your license plate tags are current.
When you visit a DDS Customer Service Center, you'll need:
- your birth certificate, your current US passport or other proof of citizenship
- your Social Security Card or other verification of your Social Security Number
- two proofs of residence (recent utility bills, bank statements and rental contracts all work)
- your Permanent Resident Card, if you’re not a citizen
- proof of a legal name change, if you've had one
In some cases, you may need to present additional documentation. To learn more about the documents you'll need, visit the SecureID Checklist Wizard.
Not quite yet. Between midnight and 6 a.m., you cannot drive, even if you’re going to work. The law also restricts who can be in your car as you are learning to drive. Read more about these restrictions.
To apply for a license, you should schedule an appointment and gather your current out-of-state license, Social Security number, proof of Georgia residency (bank statements, utility bills and rental contracts all work) and proof of identity (birth certificates, passports or immigration ID cards). At the appointment, you’ll surrender your former license, pay the license fee and receive a temporary license. Your permanent license will arrive by mail just a few weeks later.
Generally, you can change your address for free either online or in person once during your current license period. If you're within five months of your license expiration, however, you'll still need to pay the new license fee. Make sure your local postal office notes the address change on postal records before you go to the Customer Service Center; DDS uses these postal records to verify that address change.
You can change the name on your license only by visiting a Customer Service Center in person.
Within 60 days of an address or name change, you must update your driver’s license, driver's permit or ID card.
Source: Department of Driver Services. This information was prepared as a public service of the State of Georgia to provide general information, not to advise on any specific legal problem. It is not, and cannot be construed to be, legal advice. If you have questions regarding any matter contained on this page, please speak with the agency that is the source of the information.