Finding Your County Tax Commissioner

Elected by counties, tax commissioners oversee most phases of the taxing process — billing, collecting, processing and distributing taxes. They are generally in charge of property taxes, solid waste fees, public utilities and ad valorem taxes on motor vehicles (or renewing your vehicle).  A variety of areas in the counties benefit from the work of tax commissioners — individual cities, education, transportation, etc.

Find your tax collector on the Georgia Department of Revenue’s website.

Here is a quick list of common Georgia tax commissioners/assessors:


About the Author

Bethany McDaniel is the Editorial Director for GeorgiaGov. She graduated from Berry College in Rome, Ga., with degrees in Visual Communication and History.

Related to: