Vote July 24 in the Run-Off Elections

The next statewide election will be held Tuesday, July 24.

Early voting runs through July 20. Look up your county for the times and places you may vote early.

Run-off Elections

The July 24 election is a run-off for the General Primary, Nonpartisan General Election and Special Elections held May 22.

Georgia law requires a candidate to receive at least a majority (50% or more) of votes cast in order to win an election. Often, especially during primary elections with several candidates, no one will meet this threshold, so the two top finishers will meet again in a run-off.

Turnout for run-off elections tends to be lower than for primary and general elections; your vote can really make a difference.

Republican Party voters have run-off elections for Governor, Lieutenant Governor, and Secretary of State.

Democratic Party voters have a run-off election for State School Superintendent. There are also House of Representatives run-off elections in districts 6 and 7.

Restrictions on Run-off Election Voting

If you voted in the May 22 General Primary Election, you must choose the same party ballot for voting in the run-off election as you chose in the primary.

If you did not vote in the May 22 General Primary Election, you may choose either party ballot.

Non-partisan Elections

Some local offices are non-partisan.

All voters, regardless of party, may vote in non-partisan elections. Check your local ballot for information on what offices are contested in this election.

Information for New Voters

If you have not voted before, here are some tips to remember:

  • Do not wear campaign materials — T-shirts, buttons, pins, etc. to the polling place.
  • Make sure you have an acceptable ID, which can be any of the following:
    • Georgia Driver's License, even if expired
    • Valid state or federal government-issued photo ID, including a free ID Card issued by your county registrar's office or the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS)
    • Valid government employee photo ID: federal, state, or local
    • Valid U.S. passport
    • Valid U.S. military photo ID
    • Valid tribal photo ID
  • As long as you are in line when the polls close, you may vote. Most polls in Georgia close at 7 p.m., but check your polling place to be sure.
  • Your employer must let you arrive late or leave early if you don’t have at least 2 hours of available voting time before or after your shift. You may not be paid for this time off.

Register Now for November

If you are not registered now, it’s too late for the July 24 election, but there is still time to get on the rolls for the November 6 General Election.

November’s election is particularly important to our state; in addition to selecting who to send to the federal House of Representatives, Georgia voters will elect a new Governor and General Assembly, as well as several other statewide elected officials.

You have until October 9 to register to vote  in the November 6 General Election. If you haven’t voted in a while, check if you’re registered on the Georgia Secretary of State’s My Voter Page tool or by contacting your local county voting registrar.

If key details of your registration need updating — for example,  if you moved or changed your name — you also need to do so before October 9.

Disability Voter Registration

July 16-20 week is National Disability Voter Registration Week.

Now in its third year, the program aims “to increase the political power of people with disabilities while also engaging candidates and the media to recognize the disability community.” There are more than 1.3 million Georgia residents with disabilities. This week empowers all individuals to exercise their right to vote.


If you move from one Georgia address to another within 30 days of the election, you may vote in your old precinct.

Make sure to update your registration as soon as possible after moving to maintain your right to vote.


If you are concerned about your address being made public on a voter list, the Georgia VoteSafe Program can help. The program, enacted in 2009, is designed for those who have been, or may be, subject to acts of family violence or stalking.

To be eligible, you must meet one of the following qualifications:

  • You have a protective order
  • You have a restraining order
  • You reside in a family violence shelter

You can help shape your democracy. Get out and vote!