You are here

Banning Synthetic Marijuana

August 20, 2012
A marijuana plant reaches toward the sun.

During the past several years, a surge of young adults and teens have skirted the illegality of marijuana by purchasing and smoking instead a synthetic form of the drug. Formerly sold in convenience stores around the state, synthetic marijuana, or "spice", does lead to a high, but its use comes at a sometimes fatal cost.

This past March, Chase Corbitt Burnett, a 16-year-old honor student and soccer player from Fayette County, died shortly after experimenting with the drug.

In response to Burnett's death, the General Assembly last legislative session passed and Governor Nathan Deal signed into law Senate Bill 370, a measure dedicated as Chase’s Law. Under Chase's Law, the ingredients used to make synthetic marijuana are listed as Schedule I drugs. This means that even possessing synthetic marijuana is a felony. The prison sentence for possession of the substance ranges from 1 to 15 years.

Since the law's passage on March 27, law enforcement officers and convenience store owners have worked to pull all stocks of spice from shelves. In the future, if police find a carrier intends to distribute synthetic marijuana, the first conviction comes with a possible prison sentence of 5 to 30 years, with following convictions carrying a possible sentence of 10 to 40 years or even life in prison.

Learn more about synthetic marijuana and its effects on health by visiting the National Institute on Drug Abuse or reading a fact sheet from the Office of National Drug Control Policy. [The link provided for the Office of National Drug Control Policy fact sheet comes from the archived Obama White House website. Updated Jan. 23, 2017.]

You might like...

June 28, 2018

Georgians have enjoyed fireworks legally for three years now, but do you know the latest tweaks to the law? Find out what’s legal and how to be safe!

June 25, 2018

The legislative session is over and done, and all that’s left to do is obey the new laws, most of which take effect July 1.

While many of this year’s new laws will have little or minor impact on Georgians’ day-to-day lives, there is one big act that could have a drastic effect on highway safety.