You are here

January 8 Special Elections

December 12, 2012
An "I'm a Georgia Voter" sticker displays on a handbag.

With the resignations of state senators John Bulloch and Chip Rogers last week, voters from District 11 and District 21 will head back to the polls on January 8 to fill those vacancies. District 21 Representative Sean Jerguson, who is running for his district's now open senate seat, also put in his resignation last week.

For the past three days, candidates have submitted their qualifying fees with the Secretary of State's Elections Division. Along with Democrat Lisa Collins and Libertarian Jeffrey G. Bivins, Republicans Brad Hughes, Mike Keown, Marshall Berman, Dean Burke and Eugene McNease have announced interest in the senate race for District 11. Meanwhile, Republican Brandon Beach joins Sean Jerguson in the senate race for District 21. In that same district's house race, Democrat Natalie Bergeron and Independent Eduardo Correia face Republicans Scot Turner, Brian Laurens, Kenneth Ashley Mimbs and Bill Fincher.

If you'd like to vote in the special election but still need to register, you'll need to submit your voter registration by this Friday, December 14.

You might like...

November 20, 2018

The next statewide election will be held Tuesday, December 4.

Run-off elections this day will settle two contests from the November 6 General Election. 

September 25, 2018

The voter registration deadline is fast approaching. Get registered and vote!

July 18, 2018

The next statewide election will be held Tuesday, July 24.

Several run-off elections this day will determine final candidates for the November 6 General Election.