You are here

Low THC Oil Registry Facts

July 7, 2015
Governor Deal and State Legislators surrounding Haleigh Cox

Signed into law on April 16, House Bill 1, known as “Haleigh’s Hope Act” allows Georgians to possess up to 20 fluid ounces of low tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) oil without fearing prosecution. Georgia became the 24th state to allow this, joining states such as Alaska, Arizona, Connecticut, Illinois, Maryland, Minnesota, New Mexico and New York.

But before you buy anything, make sure you know the rules and restrictions. You must follow a certain process to possess low THC oil in Georgia.

Qualified for Low THC Oil

To possess low THC oil, you must have a “Low THC Oil Registry Card.” There are 8 diseases that qualify you to obtain this card:

  • Cancer
  • Seizure disorders
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS/Lou Gehrig’s Disease)
  • Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • Sickle cell disease
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Mitochondrial disease

Having one or more of these diseases could allow you to be eligible for the card. But only if you are:

  • An adult with one or more of these diseases AND you’ve been a resident of Georgia for at least one year;
  • the legal guardian of an adult with one or more of these diseases AND a resident of Georgia for at least one year; or
  • the parent/legal guardian of a minor who has one or more of these diseases AND a resident of Georgia or was born in Georgia and is under 1 year old.

If you are a qualifying parent/guardian for a child/adult, you and your spouse can apply for separate cards.

Applying for the Low THC Oil Registry Card

To become part of the Low THC Oil Registry and get a card, you must go through your physician. If they deem it necessary for you (or your child) to have low THC oil, your physician can contact the Georgia Department of Public Health (DPH). They must fill out two forms:

The physician will keep both original forms in the patient’s medical records. You can always request to have a copy of these forms, but the original will stay with them.

Your physician will then electronically submit these forms to DPH’s Low THC Oil Registry. DPH will review the information and create a Low THC Registry Card for you. Someone from DPH’s Office of Vital Records will contact you to find a convenient pickup location (there are 18 Public Health offices that you can choose from). Someone from that specific Public Health office will let you know when your card is available for pickup. It will take around 15 business days.

These cards cost $25 (the standard fee for Vital Records services). You will pay when you pick it up. If you need a replacement card, it will cost $25 as well. Each card is valid for 2 years. After it expires, your physician can request to update and confirm your information in the registry for another card.

If any information on your card is wrong, no worries! Just call the State Office of Vital Records at 404-679-4702. They’ll check in with your physician. If, however, your physician has the wrong information, you’ll need to update it with them.

Card No-No’s

  • In Georgia, you still cannot buy low THC oil with this card.
  • You cannot buy marijuana with this card.
  • You cannot sell marijuana with this card.
  • Retail stores cannot sell marijuana or products made from the marijuana plant with this card.
  • You cannot cultivate THC oil in Georgia with this card.

Once you have your low THC oil registry card, you will only be able to possess up to 20 fluid ounces of low THC oil containing no more than 5% THC.

If you have any questions or need more information, always feel free to check in with the Georgia Department of Public Health.

Photo Courtesy of the Governor's Office

About the Author

Bethany McDaniel is the Interactive Web Content Manager for GeorgiaGov. She graduated from Berry College in Rome, Ga., with degrees in Visual Communication and History.