You are here

Georgia Facts [Infographic]

February 16, 2016

Do you know how many counties are in Georgia? What about the number of U.S. Congresspeople? Can you recite the state motto?

Whether you're new to the state, brushing up on some old knowledge or prepping for this week's trivia night, this Georgia Facts infographic is sure to help you out. Take a look and impress your friends with all the Georgia information at your fingertips!

Jump to the text alternative of this infographic.

Graphical representation of the text provided in this blog


  • James Oglethorpe founded Georgia on February 12, 1733, making it the 13th colony.
  • Savannah is Georgia’s oldest city.
  • Georgia became on official state on January 2, 1788.
  • State capitals: Savannah (1777-1785); Augusta (1786-1789); Louisville (1789-1807); Milledgeville (1807-1867; Atlanta (1868-present)


  • Brasstown Bald is Georgia’s highest point.
  • Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport, in Atlanta, is known as the busiest airport in the world.
  • Georgia has 159 counties, the 2nd most of any state in the U.S.
  • Size:  Georgia is the 24th largest state (in land area) and the 9th most populous state.
  • Nicknames: The Peach State and the Empire State of the South.
  • State Motto: Wisdom, Justice, Moderation


  • 16 electoral votes
  • 2 U.S. Senators
  • 14 U.S. Representatives
  • 56 State Senators
  • 180 State Representatives

For more on Georgia, see our facts and symbols pages!

About the Author

Rachel Hart is the User Interface designer for GeorgiaGov. She visually organizes information, and writes blogs on a variety of government-related topics.