You are here

Fireworks: What’s Legal In Georgia?

June 28, 2016

With the Fourth of July around the corner, you and your neighbors may be gearing up for an evening of colorful pyrotechnics. Before wowing your friends and family with fireworks, find out what fireworks you can legally purchase and when you can set them off.

Tested and regulated by the Product Safety Commission (CPSC), consumer fireworks are legal under federal law. Fireworks must meet certain criteria regarding composition, quantity and stability of pyrotechnic material to qualify as “consumer fireworks.” Any other fireworks are classified as professional (display) fireworks and require a federal license to purchase and use them.

In July 2018, new regulations were enacted regarding the use of fireworks in Georgia. Learn about the new regulations in our blog.

What Fireworks Can You Buy In Georgia?

In Georgia, all fireworks classified as DOT 1.4G (consumer fireworks) are legal to purchase and use as stated in the Georgia General Assembly House Bill 727. Consumer fireworks you can legally buy in retail stores across Georgia include:

  • Bottle Rockets
  • Sky Rockets
  • Roman Candles
  • Firecrackers
  • Sparklers  
  • Smoke and Punk  
  • Fountains  
  • Missiles
  • Novelties
  • Crackle and Strobe
  • Parachutes  
  • Wheels and Spinners
  • Sky Flyers
  • Display Shells
  • Aerial Items (Cakes)

You have to be 18 years old or older to buy fireworks. While the law doesn’t stipulate an exact age for igniting them, keep in mind that the majority of injuries happen to kids under the age of 16. It is illegal to light fireworks under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

Keep in mind that while they may be legal, consumer fireworks are considered hazardous materials (hazmat) division 1.4G explosives. Be mindful of the laws when purchasing and lighting them off to ensure the safety of everyone.

Fireworks Facts

  • A 5% sales tax on fireworks sold in Georgia goes toward the state’s trauma care network, training and equipment for Georgia firefighters.
  • The younger you are, the more likely you will be injured by fireworks. The risk of injury from fireworks is highest for the 0-4 age group, followed by children 10-14 years old.
  • Sparklers are deceivingly benign. They can actually burn as hot as 2,000° F and account for 79% of injuries to children under 5 years old.
  • China is the largest manufacturer and exporter of fireworks in the world — supplying 90% of all fireworks.
  • Residents of Beijing, China must limit their use of fireworks during the Lantern Festival (Lunar New Year) because of record air pollution.

About the Author

April Lentini served as the Content Strategist for Digital Services Georgia from 2016 to 2017.

You might like...

June 28, 2018

Georgians have enjoyed fireworks legally for three years now, but do you know the latest tweaks to the law? Find out what’s legal and how to be safe!

June 25, 2018

The legislative session is over and done, and all that’s left to do is obey the new laws, most of which take effect July 1.

While many of this year’s new laws will have little or minor impact on Georgians’ day-to-day lives, there is one big act that could have a drastic effect on highway safety.