You are here

Drivers and Vehicles, Part 2: Recurring Processes [Infographic]

September 6, 2016

This is the second piece in a series of infographics explaining the laws related to drivers and vehicles.

In the first piece of this infographic series, we went over a few steps that you need to only take once when it comes to driving and owning a car. Now, let’s take a look at what you need to do continually over time to keep your license and your car legally up-to-date.

Jump to the text alternative of this infographic.

Graphical representation of the text provided in this blog

Driver’s License

Renew License

To get and renew a license, you’ll need to bring the following original documents with you to a Department of Driver Services (DDS) location.

  • Proof of identity
  • 2 proofs of residency
  • Social security card

If you have recently changed your name, you also need to bring proof of the legal name change such as a marriage license or divorce certificate.

License Renewal Details

Since May 2016, most drivers will now renew for 8-year terms. If your license or ID has a small gold star on it, you can renew it online and save $5. For in-person renewal, find service center locations on the DDS website.

Save time at the service center and Skip a Step by completing some paperwork online. Check the DDS online services to see what you can do from home.

Vehicle Registration Renewal

Where to Renew?

You have a few options of how to renew your vehicle registration.

If you live in a participating county, you can renew your registration online. You will also need to have your renewal identification number (RIN) found on your current vehicle registration renewal notice or online.

MVD Self-Service Center kiosks are available to residents of participating counties. Find a kiosk near you for a fast and easy way to renew your registration on your time.

You can go to your County Tax Commissioner’s Office to renew. All you need is your Georgia driver’s license.

You can also renew by mail. Just send the appropriate information to the County Tax Commissioner’s Office mailing address provided on your vehicle registration renewal notice.

Emissions Test

Vehicles registered in metro Atlanta need to pass an annual emissions test before the vehicle’s registration date. The following counties are included:

  • Cherokee
  • Clayton
  • Cobb
  • Coweta
  • DeKalb
  • Fayette
  • Forsyth
  • Fulton
  • Gwinnett
  • Henry
  • Paulding
  • Rockdale

Find more information emissions test locations with Clean Air Force.

Renewing your license and registration are an recurring processes. Make sure to bookmark this page for access to the infographic and links every time you need them.

Related Links

Rachel Hart

About the Author

Rachel Hart is the User Experience Designer for Digital Services Georgia. On Georgia.gov, she makes government material approachable with writing, infographics, videos, and other imagery.

You might like...

March 15, 2018

In two weeks, the 154th Georgia General Assembly will wrap up its work for the year, concluding the two-year legislative cycle. 

December 12, 2017

Georgia is #11 in the U.S. with opioid overdose deaths. Fortunately, we have the education and training to slow down this terrible disease and save the lives of our loved ones.

November 15, 2017

Winter is nearly upon us, which means it’s time to get your home and vehicle winter-ready. Not sure how to winterize your car? Take our tips on winterizing your car to ensure you don’t get stranded in the cold this winter!