You are here

Learn to Hunt

July 13, 2017

Do you want to catch your own game? Is this the year you take your son or daughter to the woods and teach them how to hunt?

Do you know how to hunt and, more importantly, how to hunt safely?

Let's get started.

Learn to Hunt

If you were born on or after Jan. 1, 1961, you must successfully complete a hunter education course before you can purchase a hunting license. Exceptions include:

  • Apprentice Licenses
  • 3-day Combo Hunting/Fishing Licenses
  • Hunting on your own land
  • Hunting on your parent’s or guardian’s land
  • Hunting pen-raised game birds on a licensed shooting preserve

You can take 1 of 4 online courses or get a free CD-ROM course from any Game Management or Law Enforcement office.

And practice your skills at any the shooting ranges in Georgia.

Treestand Safety

If you’re using a treestand, make sure to:

  • Read manufacturer’s instructions
  • Practice at ground level
  • Wear and connect your harness
  • Never hurry
  • Inspect before each use

Hunter Age Specifications

Planning a parent-child hunting trip?

If your child is under 12-years-old, they don’t need to take a hunter education course. But you, a licensed adult hunter, need to be with them anytime they’re hunting.

Minors between 12 and 15 can hunt without adult supervision if they possess a hunter education certificate while hunting. Otherwise, they still need to stick with a licensed adult.

For 16- to 25-year-olds, they’ll always need to take a course and have their certificate with them when purchasing a license and when hunting.

And anyone over 25 and born before 1961 needs to take a course, but they don’t need to carry a certificate when hunting or purchasing a license.

Hunt and Learn Programs

Bring your children, ages 10-17, for a weekend of hunting and classes. Together you can learn the basics of different types of hunting, how to care for harvested game, and more. If you or your child hasn’t taken a hunter education course yet, you can take it during the program.

And of course you’ll have plenty of time to hunt!

There are 3 learning levels — beginner, intermediate, and advanced. Once you’ve completed one, come back for the next to continue improving your skills.

Three Wildlife Management Areas across Georgia host the programs, so check with the Wildlife Resources Division for upcoming dates and locations.

Learn More

The Georgia Department of Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources Division can help you learn hunting laws, safety, and skills. Get ready for your hunting trip with their safety tips, videos, and additional training. And make sure to keep it legal and check out the 2017-2018 hunting regulations.

Related Links

Rachel Hart

About the Author

Rachel Hart is the User Experience Designer for Digital Services Georgia. On Georgia.gov, she makes government material approachable with writing, infographics, videos, and other imagery.

You might like...

November 2, 2017

Each fall, to prevent deer overpopulation, the Department of Natural Resources schedules quota hunts on public lands. Starting next week, various state parks will close temporarily to facilitate these hunts. See the full schedule of park closures.

September 21, 2017

Celebrate the great outdoors on National Hunting and Fishing Day Saturday, September 23, 2017. Fishing is free for Georgia residents, and many state parks and recreation areas are hosting special events.

July 25, 2017

Are you ready to grab your tree stand and ammo and hit the road? Start here for dates and regulations for some of the more popular upcoming seasons.