You are here

Burke County


Incorporated Date: 

February 5, 1777



Total Area: 

835.1 sq mi
Contact Information
P.O. Box 89
Waynesboro, GA 30830

Phone Number: 

(706) 554-2324

Fax Number: 

(706) 554-0350

Burke County is one of the original counties dating to 1777 when the first state constitution designated it from the Colonial parish of St. George. It was later divided to form Screven and Jefferson counties. Its name honors Edmond Burke, a member of Parliament who supported the colonies' interests. Waynesboro, the county seat, is named for General "Mad" Anthony Wayne of Revolutionary War fame.