You are here

Cobb County


Incorporated Date: 

December 2, 1832



Total Area: 

340.2 sq mi
Contact Information
100 Cherokee St., Suite 355
Marietta, GA 30090

Phone Number: 

(770) 528-3307

Fax Number: 

(770) 528-3325

Email Address: 

Cobb County was one of the 24 created in 1832 from Cherokee Indian territory. It is named for Judge Thomas W. Cobb, a former U.S. senator. Marietta, the county seat, is named for his wife. In frontier days, the Chattahoochee River, which forms Cobb's southeast boundary, served as a dividing line between Creek and Cherokee Indian territories.