You are here

Habersham County


Incorporated Date: 

December 15, 1818



Total Area: 

278.2 sq mi
Contact Information
555 Monroe St., Unit 20
Clarkesville, GA 30523

Phone Number: 

(706) 754-3912

Fax Number: 

(706) 754-1014

Habersham County, created in 1818 from Cherokee Indian lands, is named for President George Washington's postmaster general and a mayor of Savannah, Major Joseph Habersham. Clarkesville, the county seat, is named for Georgia Governor John Clarke.