You are here

Irwin County


Incorporated Date: 

December 15, 1818



Total Area: 

356.8 sq mi
Contact Information
207 South Irwin Ave., Suite 2
Ocilla, GA 31774

Phone Number: 

(229) 468-9441

Fax Number: 

(229) 468-9672

Irwin County began as a large territory ceded by the Creek Indians in 1818 but later divided into 10 counties: Worth, Tift, Ben Hill, Colquitt, Cook, Berrien, Lowndes, Brooks and Thomas counties plus parts of Turner, Wilcox, Lanier, Echols, Coffee and Atkinson counties. It bears the name of Governor Jared Irwin who helped expose the infamous Yazoo land fraud, a scheme that put state money and property directly into the hands of unethical politicians and their elite friends. Ocilla is the present county seat, although earlier that distinction had belonged to Irwinville, the site where Union Troops captured Confederate President Jefferson Davis.