You are here

Jefferson County


Incorporated Date: 

February 20, 1796



Total Area: 

527.7 sq mi
Contact Information
P.O. Box 658
Louisville, GA 30434

Phone Number: 

(478) 625-3332

Fax Number: 

(478) 625-4007

Jefferson County, created in 1796 from parts of Burke and Warren counties, honors President Thomas Jefferson. In tribute to Revolutionary War ally King Louis XVI of France, Jefferson's founders named the county seat Louisville. Succeeding Savannah and Augusta, Louisville housed the state capital from 1796 until 1806.

An early settler of this region, George Galphin, maintained a trading post from the 1750s and cultivated great influence among the Creek Indians. It was at his trading post that the Creeks made a treaty and ceded to Georgia all the land between the Altamaha and St. Mary's rivers.