You are here

Lee County


Incorporated Date: 

June 9, 1825



Total Area: 

355.8 sq mi
Contact Information
110 Starksville Ave.
Leesburg, GA 31763

Phone Number: 

(229) 759-6000

Fax Number: 

(229) 759-6050

Lee County, an original land lot county comprised of lands obtained from the Creek Indians in 1826, later divided its territory to create Quitman, Randolph, Schley, Stewart, Sumter, Terrell and Webster counties as well as parts of Clay, Chattahoochee and Marion counties. Richard Henry "Lighthorse Harry" Lee, father of Robert E. Lee and the man who called the motion for independence during the Continental Congress, is remembered in this county's name and its county seat, Leesburg.