You are here

Taliaferro County


Incorporated Date: 

December 24, 1825



Total Area: 

195.4 sq mi
Contact Information
P.O. Box 114
Crawfordville, GA 30631

Phone Number: 

(706) 456-2229

Fax Number: 

(706) 456-2904

Taliaferro County was once known as "Five Points" because it drew lands from five counties: Hancock, Greene, Oglethorpe, Wilkes and Warren. It dates to 1825 and recognizes Colonel Benjamin Taliaferro of Lighthorse Harry Lee's Legion during the Revolutionary War. Crawford, the county seat, is named for William H. Crawford, a U.S. secretary of the treasury and minister to the court of Napoleon.