You are here

Turner County


Incorporated Date: 

August 18, 1905



Total Area: 

286.1 sq mi
Contact Information
P.O. Box 191
Ashburn, GA 31714

Phone Number: 

(229) 567-4313

Fax Number: 

(229) 567-4794

Turner County, organized in 1905 from parts of Irwin, Wilcox, Worth and Dooly counties, recognizes Confederate Captain Henry Gray Turner, a veteran of Gettysburg, member of Congress and the state legislature, and later a Georgia Supreme Court justice. Ashburn, the county seat, is named to honor W.W. Ashburn of Eastman who built the sawmill that fostered the town's expansion.