You are here

Union County


Incorporated Date: 

December 3, 1832



Total Area: 

322.7 sq mi
Contact Information
65 Courthouse St.
Blairsville, GA 30512

Phone Number: 

(706) 439-6000

Fax Number: 

(706) 439-6004

Union County, designated in 1832, grew out of Cherokee County, and in turn, Fannin, Gilmer and Towns counties later took land from the region. John Thomas, the area's representative in the state legislature, named the county Union "because none but union-like men reside in it," he said. Indeed, the county and its neighbors upheld Unionist loyalties throughout the secession controversy and the Civil War.