You are here

Walton County


Incorporated Date: 

December 22, 1904



Total Area: 

300.0 sq mi
Contact Information
303 South Hammond Dr., Suite 330
Monroe, GA 30655

Phone Number: 

(770) 267-1301

Fax Number: 

(770) 267-1400

Walton County, an original landlot county designated in 1818, is named for George Walton, signer of the Declaration of Independence. Born in Virginia, Walton came to Savannah to study law. He was twice governor of Georgia and a U.S. senator in 1795. Settlers built homes in Monroe, the county seat, as soon as the state legislature divvied Cherokee Indian lands to create the county. The seat honors James Monroe, fifth president.