If you get a traffic ticket, you'll need to decide whether to pay the fine and accept the penalty placed on your driving record or to contest the ticket and plead not guilty. Choosing the first of these options is simpler, although your insurance premium may go up.
What You Should Know:
- Send your payment to the county court noted on your traffic ticket at least two weeks before your court date.
- Georgia's traffic laws are strict, and the police officer who issued your ticket will likely show up to speak about the violation. For that reason, it's smart to weigh all factors before going to court to plead not guilty.
- If you're recognized by the county court as a Super Speeder, you'll owe an additional $200 in fines payable to the Department of Driver Services. If you fail to pay the Super Speeder fee, your license will be suspended, and you'll owe not only the $200 violation fee but also a $50 license reinstatement fee.
How do I know if I'm a Super Speeder?
If you were traveling 75mph or faster on a two-lane road or 85mph or faster on other roads or highways when the police officer issued you the citation, you're considered a Super Speeder and will owe the $200 fine.
Source: Department of Driver Services. This information was prepared as a public service of the State of Georgia to provide general information, not to advise on any specific legal problem. It is not, and cannot be construed to be, legal advice. If you have questions regarding any matter contained on this page, please speak with the agency that is the source of the information.