alert
:

Do you have coronavirus symptoms?

Contact your primary care doctor, an urgent care clinic, or your local health care center. Do not show up unannounced at an emergency room or health care facility.
Watch for Symptoms
Protect Others
Get Tested

alert
:

This page may not reflect temporary changes in response to COVID-19.

Many state organizations have made temporary changes to their operations. To see how the coronavirus affects state services, visit our COVID-19 response section.

Apply for a Georgia Driver's License (Class C)

Georgians who are 18 and older may apply for a non-commercial driver’s license (Class C).

If you are at least 18 years old and applying for the first time, you can immediately apply for a Class C license.

If you are under 18, you may be required to participate in the graduated license program for young drivers.

The Class C license is also for drivers new to Georgia who are age 17 and hold a valid Class C equivalent from another state that has not been suspended or revoked.

How Do I Apply for My Georgia Driver's License?

  • Get Prepared

    • Schedule a Road Test Appointment in advance.
    • Be prepared to have your photo taken by the Department of Driver Services (DDS).
  • Gather What You'll Need

    • $32 fee, paid for in cash or by credit card (Check fees and terms for more information.)
    • Original documentation showing your identity, residential address, Social Security number, and U.S. citizenship or proof of lawful status in the United States. Photocopies will not be accepted. (Refer to Secure ID for more information.)
    • Applicants new to Georgia must surrender any out-of-state driver's license, permit, or ID card.
  • Apply and Test

  • Next Steps

    • You must renew your Georgia driver’s license every 8 years.
    • If you’re under 21, you will receive an “under 21” license. On your 21st birthday or after, you may be able to have the “under 21” removed using Online Services or by using the DDS 2 GO Mobile App.

Department of Driver Services: Office

Visit

2206 East View Parkway
Conyers, GA 30013
United States

Calendar icon
Closed
  • Sunday:   closed
  • Monday - Friday:   8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
  • Saturday:   closed
All in Eastern Time Zone

Related News

Hands-Free Law and Others Taking Effect July 1

The legislative session is over and done, and all that’s left to do is obey the new laws, most of which take effect July 1.

Drivers and Vehicles, Part 1: One-Time Processes [Infographic]

Learn about some of the most important legal information related to your car and driver's license.

Drivers and Vehicles, Part 2: Recurring Processes [Infographic]

As time goes on, you need to renew your driver's license and vehicle registration. Learn how!